State Law Information
A conviction of an offense under a traffic law of this state or a political subdivision of this state may result in the assessment on your driver's license of a surcharge under the Driver Responsibility Program.
The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP)The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.
This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.
- Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash. Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record. For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted from the individual’s total points.
- A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance. Points are not assessed for these offenses. A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction. An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.
"A second or subsequent conviction of an offense under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of your driver's license and motor vehicle registration unless you file and maintain evidence of financial responsibility with the Department of Public Safety for 2 years from the date of the conviction. The department may waive the requirement to file evidence of financial responsibility if you file satisfactory evidence with the department showing that at the time this citation was issued, the vehicle was covered by a motor vehicle liability insurance policy or that you were otherwise exempt from the requirements to provide evidence of financial responsibility."
If you are under age 17, you cannot prepay the fine. State law requires that you appear in court with a parent or legal guardian. A child under 17 and parent required to appear before the Court have the obligation to provide the Court in writing with the current address and residence of the child. The obligation does not end when the child reaches the age of 17.
Driving Safety Course"You may be able to require that this charge be dismissed by taking a driving safety course. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the Court on or before your appearance date of your desire to do so." This right applies to 1 charge only. Call for More information.
Failure to Appear in CourtFailure to appear or failure to pay fines may result in:
- Denial of renewal of your driver's license
- The filing of an additional charge of failure to appear and the issuance of a warrant for your arrest
- The case sent to collections and additional charges being added