City Structure
The City of Dayton is a Home Rule Government (PDF) with 6 elected officials, the Mayor and 5 City Council members. The Council members are elected by place 1 through 5 and the Mayor is an at large position, all positions serve 2 year terms. The terms are staggered, the Mayor and 2 Council seats place 4 and 5 are up for election during odd numbered years and the remaining 3 Council seats places 1 through 3 are up for election during even numbered years. The Council is responsible for the exercising of the City's legislative powers.